NQF level 2, SAQA ID: 101997, Credits 156

Christian Religious Practitioner​


Accreditation Number: QCTOSDP01201127-2262

SDP Code: SDP01501012020112701

Purpose and Rationale of the Qualification


This qualification aims to prepare a learner to operate as a Christian Religious Practitioner. 

Christian Religious Practitioner facilitates the effective practice of ministry work within a specific congregation/faith community to encourage spiritual formation, nurture fellowship and mutual care within the congregation/faith community, help members develop a Christian lifestyle, provide Christian leadership, to ensure organisational well-being, and to facilitate appropriate responses of the congregation/faith community to needs on the broader society. A qualified learner will be able to:

  • Share the gospel in a specific context and to a particular audience.
  • Build caring relationships in the faith community and respond to the spiritual and physical needs of members.
  • Provide spiritual leadership and develop leaders in a faith community.
  • Arrange and oversee the day to day running of ministries and of the administrative and accountability processes of the faith community.
  • Share the gospel in a specific context and to a specific audience.


Recent estimates indicate that there are about 186,000 Pastors (Ministers of Religion) in informal churches who do not have access to formal ministry training. The South African Council of Churches, through their Secretary General indicated a significant number of these Pastors, who are already in ministry have little or no training, and have difficulty in reading and writing. For this group, a qualification at Level 2 is required that addresses the basic elements of Christian Ministry. There is also a large group of these Pastors that have well developed reading and writing skills, for which a Level 5 is required. The Level 5 qualification is also required for people that want to join the Ministry fraternity. Such a qualification at Level 5 would not only address their training needs, but also provide access to Higher Qualifications.

A distinction between a Level 2 and 5 is necessary at different levels of complexity, whilst still addressing the essential elements of Christian Ministry.


Needs that the qualification will meet

There are many religious ministers in rural areas, and often even in urban settings, with low literacy ability, yet they function as ministers and as leaders of their faith communities. A need to assist these leaders by means of a qualification that will provide them with the competencies to minister has been expressed for many years. The Christian Religious Practitioner (Level 2) qualification aims at fulfilling this need. It will provide appropriate training to leaders who do not have the literacy ability to access any other qualification, without trivialising the competencies required to effectively function as Christian Religious Ministers. The qualification focuses on all the aspects of Christian Ministry, but at a level that will make access possible for people with no or little schooling or literacy. Church representatives involved in the development of the qualification foresee that the qualification will ultimately be used as a baseline for preparing ministry leaders to be formally recognised as ministers or spiritual leaders in their churches.


Benefits for society

 With the introduction of the new qualification at Level 2, society will benefit from the assurance that large numbers of spiritual leaders who did not have a proper training opportunity in the past, will now have a common set of competencies, despite their numeracy and literacy level of competence.

Entry requirements:

No educational requirement for this qualification


NQF 2 qualification consists of total 6 Modules including Knowledge, Practical and Workplace Experience Components.

i.          M-01 – Bible and Bible interpretation
ii          M-02 – Basic Christian Concepts
iii         M-03 – Worship services and preaching
iv         M-04 – Basic Christian pastoral care
v          M-05 – Church leadership, administration and accountability
vi         M-06 – The role of the Church in the world

Duration of the Qualification

Minimum 1 Year